Mom’s special; Butter Chicken

img_3409

 

I have been wanting to start my blog since ages, but somehow, I kept procrastinating for no definite reasons. But now after a very long time, I finally convinced myself to give it a try..
Since it’s my first time writing a blog, I was very confused about what should I begin with. Even though I was confused, I still knew for sure that I wanted to start with something related to the name of my blog i.e Made with ❤ -Mommy.

Today, since my hubby was having his lunch in his office, I wasn’t sure what should I make for lunch for just the two of us(me and my daughter). When I asked my daughter what she would like to have for lunch, she, as expected and as always, demanded that she want to have ‘Red chicken’ (well that’s what I used to call it when I too was a kid)  instantly that moment, I knew–what will be my first blog about. Because it was a Mommy-daughter moment and reminded me of my mom, I thought, why not start something about what my blog name suggested.
Like all of us, we love our Mother’s food as much as we love our Mother – (or I would say I Love my Mother’s food as much as I Love my Mother 😁). Mother’s food is most delicious and most favorite for every child. Also, it is most comforting when one is feeling sad/low/depressed or sick.

Red Chicken is nothing else but my Mom’s own version of Butter Chicken. I remember when I was kid, I used to love my mom’s special Red chicken so much so that, now just the thought about it makes me nostalgic. It’s not just me, that love this delicious chicken, Infact,my whole family used to love it and we still love it to this date.
It is a tradition in our community to prepare something special on Friday for lunch to indicate significance of the day in Islam. Like every family have their own favorite meal, my family’s favorite was either Biryani(Chicken, Mutton, Prawns or Fish) or Butter Chicken with Khushka(Biryani Rice) on fridays. But the popularity of Butter Chicken in our house was much higher. Thus, it became all time favorite and was prepared almost every alternate day. Like I loved my mother’s butter chicken a lot, my daughter also loves it to the same extent and gladly my hubby loves it too. So, I guess , in a sense, my very own family too loves Red chicken (Yay!!)
Unlike classic Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani ) recipe, which is rich with fresh cream and with many more ingredients and also has time consuming method, My Mum’s recipe is the easiest and the most delicious recipe ever of Murgh Makhani!!
So here’s the recipe

( Disclaimer: Though it never turns out as how my mother makes it, I anyways always try my best!! )

Anyways
Here’s what you will need;

img_3416

Ingredients:

  • 500grams of chicken – washed, patted dry and cut into small pieces – (feel free to use chicken with or without bones, chicken thighs or a combination of breast and thighs)
  • 2 tbsp Lonmiri*or 1 tbsp Red Chili Powder and Salt to taste
  • 1 tsp Ginger Garlic Paste
  • 2 Medium-Sized Tomatoes – Chopped
  • 3-4 tbsp Oil
  • 2 tbsp Butter

Dry spices;

  • 1 tsp Tandoori Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Coriander Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Cumin Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Garam Powder
  • Cilantro for Garnishing

Method

For Thick Gravy

In Mixie or Blender Jar add Chopped Tomatoes and Red Chili Paste and blend until thick smooth paste. If required, add little amount water for desired consistency.
Now, In Thick Bottom Pan or Non-stick pan; Heat Oil, Butter, Paste of Red Chili and Tomatoes and dry spices. Roast till the mixure is thick and oil is separated from the mixture. Follow by adding Chicken, and sauté for 10-15 minutes with Red Chili mixture and on medium- low heat (with lid closed ) allow to cook until the chicken is tender. Keep stirring in between to avoid burning. If required, add 1/4 cup of water and simmer till the gravy is thick and dark.
Voila!! Your easiest and amazing Butter Chicken is ready!!
Now dig in it with Roti/ Naan/ Chapati / Rice/ Fried Rice or even with Bread 😉 ( my personal favorite combo is with Chicken fried rice or Khushka!)

* Lonmiri (loan-me-ree)(Lit; Lon:Salt, Miri:Chili) is traditional Red chili paste of our native place and is used in almost every other dish in our town. It is a blend of dried red chili and salt with few whole spices, grinded in traditional grinding stone, called as Paato (Pa- tow).

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sia says:

    Mabrook! Maa shaa allah !loved your writing n recepie as well ,waiting to see lots more things happening in your blog.

    wish you All The Very Best !dear

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Frbie says:

      Jazak Allahu khairan and Thank you so much for your warm wishes. In sha Allah, My next post will be coming up soon.

      Like

  2. mahamshahid says:

    Great post! Keep up the good work (Y)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shahnaaz Begum says:

    Nice…nice will try some day Inshallah and let you know..

    Like

Leave a comment