Meringue Kisses

IMG_8449

I have never been a fan of Meringue as such, but to be honest, it is really an eye candy. Whenever I see any post about it I have always wanted to make my own. I have to admit that this dessert has been by far the most difficult and trickiest thing I have ever tried. I cant even recall how many times I have tried and failed to achieve to make it right. Every time I tried, it was a flop(literally) in one or other way, either the sugar would not get dissolved, or the consistency was super airy or bubbly, or after it was done it would get deflated and sticky or just get burnt altogether. Naturally, in the end I would finally give up, though the reasons I mentioned here were just few to give up, but trust me, there were many more reasons. Even after failing so many times, I would somehow always convince myself to keep trying it again and again. I guess they were just too pretty to not give it a try. And Alhamdulilah, after trying and trying, I finally made it just right this time. Everything came out just perfect, its colour, its texture, its shape.. EVERYTHING!! Certainly, this dessert tested my patience many a time but in the end my patience was finally paid off with the best results. Alhamdulilah!!

So here’s my Fail-proof recipe for those who don’t want to test their patience and creativity…

IMG_8404

Ingredients

  • 150 grams egg whites (4 whites from medium-sized eggs)
  • 300 grams sugar or 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 tsp corn flour

Method

  1. In a mixer bowl add the egg whites and sugar.
  2. Place the bowl over a double boiler and heat over medium heat for 10 minutes, mixing occasionally, until the mixture is warm and the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Remove from heat and place the bowl in the mixer with a whipping hook.
  4. Whip at medium speed for about one minute. Stop the mixer, add the corn flour, and continue whipping at high speed for 10 minutes.
  5. Add color to the meringue, lightly mix, until the color is uniform.
  6. Line baking tray with baking sheet.
  7. Transfer the mixture to a pastry bag, and squeeze out kisses on the baking sheet.
  8. Bake in a convection oven at 70°-100°C for an hour or until the kisses are crisp on the outside but still soft inside.

IMG_8415

Voila!! Enjoy your Home-made Merigues Kisses <3<3

Leave a comment